Bruges Canal Tour

I love boat tours of a city. The perspective you get, looking at everything from a duck’s point of view, is marvelous. Here’s a little photo tour through Bruges, on a warm and sunny day in May, the canals thick with boats, the typically fantastic architecture framed by an impeccably blue sky.

Our own boat was mercifully underfilled, and included a well-behaved but disinterested visitor who didn’t even bark at the flotillas of waterfowl we passed. So now, just imagine yourself as a peaceful Brugeois duck, paddling lazily, wishing the tourists would get out of the way, looking around and up from water level, and I’ll show you your life.

Not bad, eh, the life of a duck? Thirsty yet? We were too, and so we went off to a pub that serves 400 different beers, chosen from a wooden-bound menu that weighs several pounds.  But that’s another story.

Explore posts in the same categories: Road Trips in Europe

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Bruges Canal Tour”

  1. Brother Mark Says:

    I love Brugges. I did a day trip there – didn’t get to the canal tour, but it is one of the most picturesque places I’ve ever seen. Thanks for sharing the duck’s-eye view!

  2. Emily Says:

    Thanks for the tour of one of my favorite places. When I first visited Bruges, I felt as though I’d fallen into my book of Grimm’s Fairy Tales. It’s such a magical place. I love the photo of the little statue sitting on the windowsill!


Leave a Reply

