Stormy Weather

This is a just a brief bulletin from the climate change-informed department of weather. If you’re in a part of the world that’s currently getting inundated by various nefarious weather phenomena, you’ll sympathize. Over here in wherever-we-are, we are too.

Yesterday we were in Raiatea, where it was off-and-on pouring like the word drought had never been invented. Our guide told us that an edict had been issued by local authorities for all of French Polynesia to Stay Out of the Water. Arriving back onboard we learned that we were to sail last night for Bora Bora, as scheduled, then return to Mo’orea for a night, not as scheduled.

We had a change of command in Pape’ete, with Captain Carl leaving us, to rejoin the ship in Dubai (assuming that we ever get to Dubai) and Captain Gianmario taking over until then. Captain Carl was an uninterrupted fount of information and detail, Captain G. much less so. Naturally there was grumbling and muttering and wondering why we were going backwards to Mo’orea, why we had even come to Bora Bora, and all that kind of speculation that could have been assuaged by detail.

Waking this morning to a ship that is swinging pretty regularly around her anchor, we learned that Mo’orea is no longer considered to be a safe harbor since the tropical depression we’re in is deepening and there’s a chance that it will strengthen to 100 mph winds by tomorrow night. So now we’ll head back to Pape’ete this evening, where there’s an actual dock and we won’t be anchored out, and where I guess they could easily get us all off the ship if such a thing were to become necessary.

Meanwhile we’re hanging out in Bora Bora all day, where I am reluctantly but respectfully declining to go ashore. As much as I am curious about the legendary island my tolerance for being soaked to the skin was exceeded by a mile yesterday, which I’ll tell you about soon. For now I just wanted to say that we’re still here, even if we’re not there. We just heard that our next port, Aitutaki in the Cook Islands, is currently deemed to be inaccessible. I’m guessing that we’ll be heading straight to New Zealand when this blows over.

I see that California is getting hit way worse than we are, and other parts of the world are getting extreme weather as well. Try to stay dry, my friends, and we’ll do the same. And wherever you live, vote for folks who take climate change seriously. Our collective future depends on it.

2 thoughts on “Stormy Weather

  1. Hi Abra,
    You are really having quite a few unwanted events so far. First Covid and now the awful weather. Hoping for better weather and excellent health from here forward. I’ve been to Bora Bora and it’s lovely but we stayed in “over the water bungalows” which would require a land rather than cruise visit. Unless I missed it, have you mentioned the cruise line and ship you’re on ? That flat map is a little confusing to me. Only drizzles here in WA – nothing compared to CA. Stay dry !
    Char (from Poulsbo)

  2. Abra, you are quite right. We are having fun here in California… now that the worst has passed. Yesterday we lost power, but it was back by this morning, when all the lights suddenly went on at 6am. My poor daughter isn’t due to have power until Wednesday night. The edge of her property line is the edge of her particular grid. So, while she can see lights shining in other homes, hers is pitch black. Her boyfriend is bringing over an ice chest so she can store some of her refrigerated food in it. I’ve offered my fridge, but you know how kids can be… even when they’re 57 years old… “Mom, I can take care of myself.” I’ve learned not to push it.

    We’ve had many trees falling on houses here in Santa Cruz County, though only one fatality. One woman narrowly missed having a tree fall on her car as she was coming up her driveway. The news tonight was full of videos showing trees crashing through neighborhoods, taking down power lines in the process. My emergency alert system kept beeping every time another power line fell. “Help! I’ve fallen and I can’t get up!”

    I’m sorry you’re having lousy weather. But in retrospect, at least you’ll always have interesting stories to tell. I’m sure this is just the storm before the calm for you.

    Waiting more more tales from the sea…
    Donna

Leave a comment