The Taste Of Home

Sunrise 158

We’ve been eating very well since we’ve been back.  The first week we had insatiable cravings for Mexican food, and that’s almost all we ate.  But now it’s American food that floats our boat, like this lush Copper River salmon, abundant this year and delightfully less expensive than in years past.

Sunrise 189

I’m rediscovering the joys of smoking, standing out on the back deck with my hair full of the sweet smoke of cherry wood, waiting for the chicken and corn to take on that aroma of the wild, the scent that women have been bathed in since they first learned how to carry fire with them on their travels.

Sunrise 175

Eggs are another ancient food, belonging to no one culture, but made like this, according to our friend Kathy’s secret recipe for family happiness and by her own hand, they call us back to childhood picnics, summer evenings, and lightning bugs in jars.

Sunrise 145

I didn’t have shishito peppers as a child, but since I’ve only ever had them in America I count them as American food.  They’re beautifully miniature, just a bite or two apiece, and one in a hundred or so is spicy enough to surprise you, while the other 99 are reassuringly sweet.

Sunrise 143

Even sweeter is this raspberry mousse pie.  Actually, I could make this in France and French people would definitely enjoy it, but it’s here that raspberries are plentiful and affordable.  After several days of raspberries by the handful, in cereal, in smoothies, and even on toast, a raspberry mousse pie seemed like just the thing.

It’s funny, but now that I think of it, there’s one glaring omission in our all-Americana scheme.  We haven’t yet had one single hamburger.  Time to remedy that!

Explore posts in the same categories: French Letters Visits America

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “The Taste Of Home”


  1. Abra, I enjoy reading about you ‘rediscovering’ your homeland. Brings back fond memories of returning to Estonia in 2006 after seven long years away..

  2. Eden Says:

    It looks like the pie is in a graham cracker crust? That, to me, is a quintissentialy American flavor.

    for your burger fix: We’re supposed to BoM sometime in early June. You should come across & join the expotition.

  3. Abra Bennett Says:

    It’s a spice cookie crust, but that’s the same idea. I can’t wait until June, I think I have to have a burger today!

  4. Eden Says:

    PS, it’s not just eggs in general that span cultures, but stuffed eggs in specific. I have recipes in my collection from 13th century moorish Andalusia, 15th century Italy, and 17th century France just to name a few…


  5. Welcome home. Deviled eggs are one of my all time favorites. Remember the red deviled eggs, pickled in beet juice? I can’t remember the last time I saw them.

  6. zuleme Says:

    I wish I could cook like you!


Leave a Reply

