The Sweetness Of May

DSC_0568

A lovely French custom is to offer people sprigs of lily of the valley on this day, the 1st of May. It’s a custom that is said to go all the way back to the Renaissance, falling in and out of favor over the centuries, but always signifying good luck and good fortune.

Normally France has at least as many bureaucratic restrictions as any other country on earth, but on this day anyone may sell muguets on the street, not needing a permit, which I think contributes greatly to the public good and general happiness quotient. I remember that my first year in France I bought a handful and handed them out to the butcher, the baker, and pretty much everyone who made my life there more pleasant. It was only later that I learned that you usually only give them to friends, but by that time, those people had become my friends, so I chalked it up to the power of the sweet little flower.

This year, my new garden is full of them, and the corner where they grow smells intoxicatingly sweet. I bring them into the house, admiring their creamy white and oh-so-delicate bells, and think of France, about how I’d love to wander my old neighborhood, handing out little sprigs of happiness.

But this year it will have to be virtual, des muguets virtuels, and I offer some to you. From a cool, fragrant little corner of my life, a symbol of friendship and good luck, please accept them with my hopes that you have a lovely May Day, with just a soupçon of la vie française.

Explore posts in the same categories: French Customs

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “The Sweetness Of May”

  1. Marcy Buchan Says:

    Happy May Day to you, Abra!

  2. Barbara Jacquin Says:

    Didn’t see many for sale in Uzes today on this cold, blustery day. Does that mean the foreigners now outnumber the French here? Did have fun though at a wine and local food tasting on the Place aux Herbes, while fighting the tree pollen and Mistral winds.

  3. Abra Bennett Says:

    I think it means that they don’t grow well in the south. I never saw them growing in Uzès.

  4. don Says:

    thank you


Leave a Reply

