Spring Has Sprung

DSC_0490

I know that some of you are still suffering through the last dreary days of the year, so I thought I’d cheer you up with the things that really cheer me up – my garden, and Minou. Both are in fine fettle these days. Here’s a little peek at my garden.

DSC_0494

The entire foreground  used to be lawn, but I had it taken out last fall and replaced with drought-tolerant plantings. It’s just starting to come to life. The gorgeous dogwood tree was already there

DSC_0497

DSC_0505

and I love its extravagant showiness. At first I thought it was a rare treasure, but now I see that the whole neighborhood is full of them, the exact same variety – there must have been a big sale on them about 20 years ago.

DSC_0481

Tulips have such a short life, but such a radiant one.

DSC_0476

I planted a cool little tree, a Forest Pansy, which is a kind of redbud. This is its first season to flower.

DSC_0462

Every day I inspect the garden for new flowers, and Minou almost always accompanies me on my rounds.

DSC_0451

At the end of the day this is a sweet spot to sit with a glass of wine, reading the paper, or grilling something for supper, maybe doing a little homework. You can think of me there in just a couple of hours, wine in hand and something on the grill, although definitely minus the homework today. The forecast for today and tomorrow is “sunny and delightful” and I’m taking full advantage of that gift.

Explore posts in the same categories: French Letters Visits America

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Spring Has Sprung”

  1. Chuck Says:

    I think that you are in a sweet spot. Tonight Jane and I are off to a French cooking class at Harmons Cooking School a few minutes from our place.

  2. Jan Harding Says:

    Such a beautiful place to spend time! We used to have a pink dogwood, but sadly, it died of some disease. However, our Forest Pansy redbud delights us every spring and shows off for all who drive past our house.

  3. Catanea Says:

    Do you garnish your salads with those forest pansy blossoms?

  4. Barbara Jacquin Says:

    So lovely and serene. Isn’t she a Maine Coon? Cutr!

  5. Katherine Says:

    such a lovely garden Abra

  6. Abra Bennett Says:

    Wow, I had no idea those Forest Pansy flowers were edible! I’m cooking an Indian feast for friends tonight and will try to work them in somewhere – they’d probably be beautiful sprinkled on the raita.

    Minou seems Maine Coon-ish but he’s not a big cat, not over 10 lbs so far, and aren’t they supposed to be huge?

  7. Marc-André Says:

    What a beautiful Tree

  8. dominique Says:

    beautiful garden and kitty cat!


Leave a Reply

