Shifting Patterns

IMG_9354-001

You’re looking at the colors, and patterns, of my new life. Bold, different, not shrinking from stepping forward and proclaiming “here I am!” Not what Shel would have picked. Not a life that includes Shel. My own separate life. Such a concept, at the nexus of joy and pain.

DSC_9552-001

It’s time to let the cat out. Of the bag, that is. I’m moving, for a couple of years. Maybe not “moving on,” as one is said to do after a terrible loss, but moving, fair and square.

I’ve bought a little house in Walla Walla, WA, and I’m going to live in it during two school years. Why school years? Because I love to go to school. And in this case, I’m thrilled to say that I’m going to be studying at the Center for Enology  and Viticulture. Learning to grow grapes, and make wine. And writing about it, of course. What could be a better way to spend the next two years?

And after that, it’s anyone’s guess. Mistress of Reinvention, I christen myself. Skipping in to the Vast Unknown, Shel no longer by my side, but always in my heart, forging ahead, not quite fearless, but determined. And thrilled to be learning something so cool, to have this chance, and to have seized it.

Explore posts in the same categories: French Letters Visits America

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

14 Comments on “Shifting Patterns”

  1. Dick Lunde Says:

    Sounds like a great way to reinvent yourself! Congratulations. It may not impress the cat, but I think it’s great.

  2. Henk and Greta Says:

    You are amazing! An example for all of us. Go for it and enjoy! Big hug.

  3. CherieSheree Says:

    Wow! You are one amazing woman Abra! Thrilled for you! Pim has talked about having a vineyard one day… I better check out Walla Walla! xxx

  4. barrytwyman Says:

    Walla Walla ! home of viticulture ? lol…good luck cobber xxx thinking of you .

  5. Barbara Jacquin Says:

    Another adventure! Go for it! Bon courage!

  6. Katherine Says:

    Hope you will be happy in Walla Walla. Just watched the video about the school . It is so interesting. Wishing you lots of succes , love

  7. Allene Goforth Says:

    Way to go, Abra! I wish you best in your new life.

  8. Ujwala Says:

    Looking forward to Chateau Bennett… all the best!

  9. Randi Says:

    Wow, congrats, bummed though because I would have loved to meet you when I come to Seattle in September.

  10. Nancy Says:

    Excellent! I’ll hoist a glass to you now, and maybe in a year or two hoist another glass or two – of your own blend!

  11. M Says:

    I’m so excited for you.

  12. Lucy Says:

    Great, Abra!

  13. Shirley D Says:

    My home town! The school is a good one and I’m sure you will do well. Best of luck in your new venture!

  14. Meredith Says:

    I’m so inspired by your spirit and the way you adventure through life. What a wonderful thing. Best of luck on this next adventure!


Leave a Reply

