On My Way

IMG_9122

Tonight, one last dinner in this dining room. The orchid was blooming when I arrived two months ago, and it still is, outlasting me. I can’t say that I was blooming when I arrived, nor am I blooming now, but I’m definitely doing better. Being here, among so many friends, learning to live here amidst the echoes and shadows of my life with Shel, only without him, learning to be alone here, has been good for me. Good in the way that medicine is good for you, only sweeter.

IMG_9126

Here you see just eight of the fifty steps inside this house, and tomorrow morning I’ll walk down them for the last time. Believe me when I tell you that I won’t be missing them at all. I’m off to the Netherlands in the morning, and I’m excited about that. And in a few more days, I’ll leave Europe again, and head back to the New World. I really don’t know where I belong, anymore, but I’m going to be finding that out. I’m letting life take me where it will, and I’m happy to be along for the ride.

Explore posts in the same categories: At Home In France

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “On My Way”

  1. Alain Laurent Says:

    Bon voyage ma Chère Abra, nous fumes très heureux de t’avoir revue, dommage que ce ne fut pas plus long… A très bientoôt j’espère Grosse bise de nous deux Alain et Marie France

  2. Barbara Jacquin Says:

    “…letting life take me where it will, and I’m happy to be along for the ride” – certainly simplifies matters, doesn’t it? I love the idea.

  3. denis Feeney Says:

    I wish you all the best. Enjoy the adventure Bon voyage
    Denise


Leave a Reply

