Such A Pretty Life

IMG_8895 I’ve been neglecting to show you where I am, mostly because most of where I’ve been is in the classroom eight hours a day. And while that’s fascinating to me, I know that it’s bound to be somewhat less so for you. It’s hard to explain why I want to spend all day working on my French grammar, so you’ll have to trust me when I suggest that we all have our quirky desires, and this is one of mine. And then, cracking my brain cells over the proper placement of prepositions in such a beautiful place, well, that’s pretty primo. IMG_8822 When I wake up in the morning and step out on my balcony, it looks like this, when it’s not raining. We’ve actually had more rainy days than I would have imagined possible, but we’re in a sunny spell now, and we all love it. IMG_8730 This is what I come home to, when a glass or two of wine after class goes perfectly with the view. I have to say that it’s great to be back where $8 gets you a really nice bottle of everyday wine. IMG_8893 And in between, I’m here at school. IMG_8898 We take our breaks morning and afternoon in a gorgeous garden, IMG_8902 and this is our dining room, where we’re extremely well-fed by Chef Nathalie, IMG_8903 amidst the cheerful holiday decorations. IMG_8809 We’re just 10 minutes from Nice by bus, but I’ve only been there once so far, because I’m pretty beat by the end of the day, and spent the first of our three weekends here at home in my bathrobe with an unbelievable cold. IMG_8859 Luckily, though, we went on a wonderful school excursion to Saint-Paul de Vence, a town famous for its art and artists. IMG_8861 It’s a lovely little place, touristy, but in a bearable way, IMG_8863 since the shops and galleries have a lot of high quality stuff. IMG_8864 For once I wished I’d had time to shop, even though normally I’m not much of a shopper. We had a wonderful lunch there at Le Caruso, and if you’re ever in the neighborhood, I heartily recommend it. IMG_8885 We also went to Tourettes-sur-Loup, an almost unbearably picturesque, if rather deserted, little town. IMG_8870 IMG_8872 IMG_8874 IMG_8875 IMG_8876 IMG_8879 I’ve also seen some great French art that I want to share with you, but that will have to wait until next time. I’ve got to do my homework and get some sleep before class in the morning. It’s a lot like being a kid again, in the best possible way.

Explore posts in the same categories: At Home In France

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Such A Pretty Life”

  1. Henk and Greta Says:

    I am so glad you are enjoying your stay in Villefranche. As for the grammar I don’t envy you, I hate it. ;-)))

  2. Chele Says:

    Oh what a lovely time you must be having. So so envious! I love the photo of you in the mirror–you look so Abra-ish. I’m curious about those red-spotted buildings — what’s that surface?

  3. Abra Bennett Says:

    Chele – that’s the ochre of Rousillon. You can read more about it here https://frenchletters.wordpress.com/2008/06/25/on-the-ochre-trail/


  4. Wonderful pictures of a beautiful part of France…nice post:)

  5. Barbara Jacquin Says:

    I admire your courage for all that homework. Bon courage!

  6. aromacucina Says:

    Yeah!!! Pictures!!! Tourettes-sur-Loup looks a bit like my Montone…only with wider streets. (Random thought…Tourettes? does the name have anything to do with the syndrome?) Keep studying!!!

  7. Karen Chrestay Says:

    It is so lovely to hear joy in your voice again, Abra. I so admire your courage and dedication to taking French lessons. It’s something I’ve always wanted to do. When you’re back stateside, I’ll take you up on that offer to get a little piece of the vinegar mother. Looking forward to another of your wonderful posts!

  8. Laura Strohm Says:

    Reading all your adventures now, getting into the swing of following a blog…photos are utterly fantastic. Yes, as your former teacher I know that all those millions of little gray cells up there in your brain need something fun to work on! Watch out, you’ll really be fluent pretty darn soon! Good luck with all things, one holiday down, and it looked great! love, laura


Leave a Reply

