Save The Bees Knees

DSC_8849

Bees are in the news almost every day, all up in your face when it’s a slow news day in the Middle East or Ukraine, and today I even saw Toby get stung right in the kisser. There’s colony collapse disorder, arguments about whether or not neonicotinoid insecticides are involved, talk of mass starvation when pollinators disappear into the beepocalypse, and worse.

Yet my garden has hundreds of bees in it at any given moment. They love lavender, and salvia, and my garden is overflowing with both of them. I sometimes sit for an hour, watching the bees, who pay absolutely no attention to me, and thinking about how they might disappear from the Earth, and how we all do disappear, and similarly non-summery thoughts.

But one good thing I realize is that the bees love my garden, and they’re not dying here. And it’s something we all can do, plant a garden full of flowers that bees love, and do everything possible to provide their favorite habitat. It’s not the long-term solution, but for once in the scheme of impending world disasters there’s actually something we can do to help.

Plus, watching bees and smelling the lavender gives you something to do when you forgot to charge your phone.

Explore posts in the same categories: French Letters Visits America

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Save The Bees Knees”

  1. heidih Says:

    Absolutely with you on our gardens as habitats. I also have lots of salvia and lavender and oh my do they stay busy on the ginormous rosemary. Toss in some ,milkweed and passion vine for the butterflies and you have quite a show.

  2. Abra Bennett Says:

    It’s funny because I have lots of monarda (bee balm) which I love for its tousled mophead appearance, but the bees prefer the lavender and salvia.

  3. heidih Says:

    Well, a smorgasbord gives all the critters more options. Perhaps the hummers are enjoying the bee balm. I don’t have any so no personal observations. I do recommend African Blue Basil – it is a perennial (well maybe not in your zone) hybrid that is sterile. It has big flower sprays and since it can’t set seed the blooms don’t stress the plant and can be left on. Has a very cinnamony scent. Bees flock to it even when it is on a sales table surrounded by humans.

  4. Abra Bennett Says:

    I’ve never seen African Blue Basil – I’ll have to look for it. What the hummingbirds flock to in my garden is the Cape Fuchsia – they love it.

  5. nb Says:

    Bees are really enjoying my pink Monarda this year…a pleasure to watch them!

  6. Cape Coop Says:

    The bees love all of our berry bushes, and we love the bees.


Leave a Reply

