Dust In The Wind

DSC_0032

My beloved husband Shel. 1/19/47 – 4/6/14.

Explore posts in the same categories: French Letters Visits America

58 Comments on “Dust In The Wind”

  1. Allene Says:

    Abra and Eric, please accept my sincere condolences on your great loss. I’d like to make a donation to a charity, but don’t know which one would be best. Allene

  2. Linda Says:

    So sorry Abra. Makes me cry to hear this.


  3. Abra…so sorry to hear. I can’t express my admiration for Sheldon, likely the smartest friend I ever had. A true “Renaissance Man”. I’ll miss him.

  4. Lucy V Says:

    Oh Abra… It has been such a long haul. Feeling such strong emotion for you both now.

  5. Michel Says:

    Words fail me Abra, my heart breaks for you and your family. Please accept my sincerest condolences.

  6. Dee Sloan Says:

    Our condolences. Skip and I are so sorry.

  7. Henk and Greta Says:

    Dear Abra and Eric, our sincere condolences. We will always remember him as a brave, intelligent, kind man, with a lot of humor. We wish you all the strength you need to get through these difficult period. Our thoughts are with you and the family. Love.

  8. Beth Says:

    As a longtime reader, please know I am thinking of you and wishing you peace and strength. I am so very sorry for your loss. Thank you for sharing your lives with us these many years.

  9. John Patton Says:

    Condolences
    A lovely man
    A good life

  10. Amber Says:

    Wishing you, and Shel, so much peace at this hard time. Thinking of you.

  11. Dorothy Says:

    So sorry to hear. So very glad I was able to get to know you and Shel. Sending you love.

  12. Alain LAURENT Says:

    Ma Chère Abra
    Marie France se joint à moi pour t’envoyer toutes nos amitiés dans ce triste moment, nous sommes prés de Toi par la pensée mais aussi par la prière..
    Je garderai dans mon cœur le souvenir d’un Ami, bien vivant qui épluchai des légumes à La Calmette avec son bonnet sur la tête
    Nous t’embrassons très fort..

  13. islandlass Says:

    Oh, Abra am so sorry to hear this very sad news. Our condolences to you and your family. Love to you. Hilary and Nelson

  14. donna Says:

    my condolences…hoping you’ll find strength it what remains behind..thank you for the sharing you do with your French Letters community

  15. hale may Says:

    I met Shel at the Pegasus Thursday jam sessions. So full of wit and sincerity. He is missed by many.


  16. Abra – I can’t imagine what you are going through. Shel was a special guy, and he will be missed – it was so much fun getting to know you both last year, and I will think of Shel and his wit and story telling ability (and love for coffee!) often. Oh, and his wonderful music. Take Care.

  17. Kathy Patton Says:

    My heart aches for you and Eric. I will deeply miss your dear Shel and your father and my friend. The world has less laughter and music now that he is gone. My thoughts are with you both. Kathy

  18. randi Says:

    I’m so sorry

  19. Cottave Says:

    Chère Abra – mes plus fortes pensées pour toi et ta famille, dans ces bien tristes journées. J’espère que Shel aura vu et senti le printemps pointer son nez dans votre Ouest si lointain. Peut-être, plus tard la douceur française viendra t’apaiser.
    Agnès

  20. Jeremy Newel Says:

    Abra – my thoughts and prayers are with you. There are no words….. Yours has been an incredible journey. You were so lucky to have had more years with Shel than I ever would have thought possible. I attribute that to the excellence of your loving care.

  21. Fabre Sanders Says:

    Abra, my thoughts and prayers are with you at this difficult time.

  22. Mark Says:

    Much love to all of you. Love has its challenges. Thank the universe that you had all of these years of blessings (even the not-as-ideal ones) to share together. We’ll miss him.

  23. Vicki Says:

    My sincere thoughts and prayers for your loss. Your love for your beloved Shel came through with every word you wrote about your life together.

  24. Wolfgang Says:

    Stumbling accross, call it a sudden feeling , reading it, feeling very sad!
    My condolences to you Abra and your family.

    I was honored to make his and your aquaintance,
    enjoy a moment of his life with you two in your beloved France .

    He was such a fine man to be with.


  25. Abra I am so sorry. I’m sending love. May his memory be a blessing.

  26. Catanea Says:

    Oh, my dear Abra.
    Shocked and weeping.
    May the love between you two star-crossed (I think you are) lovers continue to be expressed in your own sharing of the things you two shared as a couple.
    That’s the best I can wish.


  27. I am so sorry, Abra. You are both so courageous, meeting everything head on. I’ so glad that you consciously made the choice to make your time together the most important thing in your lives for the past 4-5 years.

  28. Alana Says:

    I’m so terribly sorry, Abra.

  29. heidih Says:

    I extend my deep and sincere encouragement for you in this time. I know you only through reading the blog and have been inspired many times over by your love and your well-lived lives.

  30. Christyne Says:

    Abra, I’m just a reader of your blog, but your love for Shel shined through with every post. So sorry to hear of his passing.

  31. Ujwala Says:

    Abra, I really don’t have words for your loss.. I remember Shel when I met him, and his largesse, beautiful deep resonant voice, and sense of humour. Gros bisous, and tight hugs to Eric and you.

  32. Conni Brownell Says:

    I’m so sorry

  33. jeanne Says:

    I am so sorry to hear this news. Reading of your love for your husband and his for you through the years has been an inspiration and I hope it will be a comfort to you in the days and months to come.

  34. Rona Y Says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss. I’ve never met you in person; just online through forums and here. I send healing thoughts your way


  35. Peace and blessings to you, Abra.

  36. Janan Henry Says:

    I am so sorry, Abra. It is very clear to me that you and Shel shared something very special, and I am so sorry for your loss.

  37. Chris Amirault Says:

    So sorry for your loss.

  38. Nancy Says:

    Oh, Abra. It doesn’t really help when one sees it coming, does it? I’m so sorry for your loss.

    Words aren’t enough here, but they’re all I have: from here it looks as though you made the most of what you had, for all the years that you had, and that’s saying a great deal about the way we all should live! I admire the way you both made the most of what you had, and I weep for your loss even as I celebrate your time together.

  39. Anna Nielsen Says:

    Abra,
    I am so very sorry. Anna N


  40. Sending love and hugs

  41. susan vogt Says:

    Oh Abra. I am so so sorry. We have read your blog for many years and have been so inspired by your love and fortitude and resilience. We got hooked on your wonderful stories of France but the story of your marriage and your love for each other was even more compelling. May Shel rest in peace. He was blessed to be married to you. We wish you strength in the coming months. Know that many people have you in their thoughts.

  42. Lise Says:

    My deepest condolences to you and your family. May you find peace in your memories.l

  43. Price Connor Says:

    Dear Abra and Eric,

    Joe< Virginia, and I send our sincerest sympathy in your loss of husband and fther.

    Price Naryka

  44. J Chabot Says:

    It’s true– there are many more people than you know, out here, with you in our thoughts. I read your blog frequently, and never commented until recently, and now I see this… and I’m struck with such sadness for you. This is a really lovely photo of your Shel. May you make peace with this loss, and find strength in your friends and your loved ones, and in the knowledge that so many people are thinking of you.
    Judith

  45. Maggie Says:

    Abra, I’m very sad to hear about Shel. I send my best wishes for you.

  46. Cape Coop Says:

    Abra, please accept my sympathy and condolences. We say,in my family, “may his memory be a light” and Shel’s most certainly is. I’ve lived vicariously through what you shared here in your blog, as my beloved and I are separated for the past 7 years-you have loved each other as we do,and reading about your happy appreciative life has been a comfort to me on my own dark and lonely days. May your memories be a comfort to YOU when you might feel a dark loneliness, too.

  47. Erin Says:

    Sending my sympathy and love to you Abra. I have enjoyed reading about your and Shel’s adventures. May he rest in peace.

  48. Laura Whalen Says:

    Abra, I am deeply sorry for your loss.

  49. Alex Corcoran Says:

    Abra, my heart flies out to you. He was such a lovely man and his loss must be enormous, but I know your gift to him was just as large.

  50. Richard Hall Says:

    Abra and Eric, Fought the good fight and is now in a better place with no pain or suffering setting a table for your wonder fare in the future. God Bless you. Cousin Richard

  51. Ginger G Says:

    … when I saw the subject, I knew – so wonderful you had each other for so long, with travels and experiences you have to remember.

  52. Cindy Says:

    So sorry to hear this. i never met either of you except through your blog for the last few years, but I feel like I knew him

  53. Karen Says:

    Abra – David and I, and all your old CMHC and Corkheads friends, are so sorry to hear this news. Shel was one of the strongest, smartest, and most brave men I have ever known — and the two of you together were amazing. You two had so many wonderful experiences and such an interesting life — that you so generously shared with us all through your lovely writing. I’m so glad we had the privilege of meeting you both all those years ago. Karen & David Chrestay

  54. philmaxbear Says:

    Oh no. We only just found your blog today and we’ve been really enjoying it. This is so, so sad. Sending you our very best wishes and sincere condolences from Birmingham, England – Phil the bear, Edwina and Ben.


  55. I found your blog six years ago when we were planning our second trip to France. I stayed for the food and cats and eventually became immersed in your life. Very unlike me. My heart aches for you.

  56. Marigene Says:

    Abra, I am so sorry for the loss of your beloved Shel…my thoughts and prayers are with you.

  57. Sandra Says:

    I am so very sorry to hear this sad news. You are in the hearts of all your friends at this terrible time.

  58. Judy Russell Says:

    Abra, my most sincere condolences. Shel will be missed by all the people whose lives he touched. I am so very sorry for your loss — and for the loss to us all.


Leave a Reply

