Hummingbird Heaven

It’s mid-November. It’s gotten cold, it’s gotten rainy, but for some reason, undoubtedly related to climate change, my pineapple sage is still hanging in there, to the evident delight of the Anna’s hummingbirds.

While other local hummers, like the Rufous and the Black-chinned hummingbirds, have long since headed south to Texas and Mexico to pass the winter frolicking in warmer climes,

even though it’s thousands of miles of flying and they’re just feather weights,

the jewel-toned Anna’s, like this lovely little lady bird, manage to stick around throughout the damp and dreary Puget Sound winter.

Normally the pineapple sage would have long since given up the ghost, or I would have picked all the flowers to put in a salad, but this year the blooms are still going strong,

and I stopped picking them altogether when I realized that the hummingbirds were still dining early and often on our deck. They’re often the first thing I see when I open my eyes in the morning, and speaking of vision, if I’m out on the deck they’ll sometimes come and hover just in front of my face, fierce long bill pointing right between my eyes. I don’t know whether they’re being territorial and trying to scare me back inside in front of the fire, where I belong, or whether they’re thanking me for having so heavily fertilized the pineapple sage last spring. They speak in little clicks, and I haven’t mastered that language yet.

But even though I can’t fully understand their story, they’re definitely my model for strength in the face of adversity, artless beauty, and eating well in every season. Go pineapple sage!

Explore posts in the same categories: French Letters Visits America

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Hummingbird Heaven”

  1. dickl Says:

    Great pictures! Did you have some sun?

    I don’t often comment, but I do enjoy your blog.
    Dick L.

  2. Abra Bennett Says:

    Thanks, yes, we did have a couple of sunny days, even though it’s raining right now.

  3. Barbara Jacquin Says:

    Your pictures are beautiful and the camera is really fast to capture those lovely birds. Lucky you!

  4. Abra Bennett Says:

    Barbara – it’s the Nikon D7000 – we really like it.

  5. Barbara Jacquin Says:

    OK, I see. It’s a reflex and costs 700$ or so. Do you use an additional lens for fast photos like the birds? I’d better save up.

  6. Abra Bennett Says:

    Yes, it’s an SLR, and I think it cost about $1200 or so. These were shot with a 28-300 telephoto lens.

  7. heidih Says:

    I adore my pineapple sages – my main one is as big as a VW Beetle. The hummingbirds as you noted are in heaven- click, ziip, repeat- a joy!

  8. Abra Bennett Says:

    I have mine in a large pot – I had no idea they could get as big as a Beetle! Although maybe they couldn’t up here in our climate.


Leave a Reply

