Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

As the ugly duckling becomes a swan, so must we all change and grow. Tomorrow we start our journey back to America, although we’re already planning to come back to France in the autumn, to stay for a good long while, Shel’s health permitting. We don’t know the details yet, and will spend the summer working them out, but this has slowly become home to us.

Then for some unknown reason I’ve also decided to let my hair be grey if it wants to, and I’m sure that I’m going to look and feel more duckling than swan during the process. It’s an important life change, and I’m planning to pay close attention to it.

Just thinking about how to live in France as a grey-haired woman makes me a bit weary, and I realize that French Letters has been going for nearly four years without a break. I’ve decided to give myself the time to make it through those changes, which I think will mean that you won’t see much of me here this summer, although I may not be able to resist the urge to share recipes from time to time. So have a great summer yourself, and I hope to see you on the other side.

Explore posts in the same categories: At Home In France, French Letters Visits America

19 Comments on “Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes”

  1. Kathi Says:

    Sending peace for all the changes. Ducklings have their own beauty just like everything created. Find strength in the changes and keep us posted on the progression.

  2. Jan Says:

    I’ve personally always thought ducks were pretty cute. Wishing you a good trip back and looking forward to seeing you soon!


  3. Bon voyage and congratulations on the gray hair. It really is pretty liberating once you get used to get a senior discount before you are eligible for it!! 🙂

  4. ConniB Says:

    Sorry you have to leave your new home but will be happy to get to see you when you come back to your old home. HUGS

  5. Debra Lane Says:

    Changes are always challenging but life is a constantly moving journey. Look forward to catching up when you are back in WA. Let’s plan a chef gathering soon!


  6. Safe travels back to the States.
    Enjoy the journey as much as possible, I know you will.

  7. patricia Says:

    Kudos on the go-to-grey decision. I have had so many compliments on my beauty since I stopped coloring my hair. And believe me, I am no beauty. However, I think there’s something lovely to people about seeing an attractive woman just looking her age.

  8. Ujwala Samant Says:

    Dearest Abra (and Shel),
    We will be in Bretagne in July for my 50th. We would love to see you if you can make it. We are in our last year in the US as Pascal has asked for a move back next year. Nevenn finishes high school and is taking a gap year before moving to Europe or Asia for school. So we are making our move back to France (Lyon-Paris ou Bretagne)…. would love it if Shel and you could come see us…. safe travels, uju

  9. margaret Hall Says:

    As a grey-haired old girl, I promise it won’t change your life—and it takes no effort to go grey, so that’s no excuse for your not sending out French Letters. We all need to know what’s happenin’ on Bainbridge Island. Bon voyage. Let me know when you’re safely there and have the cats happily with you.

  10. Edye Schneider Says:

    While you are going through your changes Abra, just know that wherever you are, whatever you’re doing we will all always look forward to seeing and hearing from whenever urge strikes you! Best to you and ENJOY!

  11. Stephanie Says:

    Safe travels Abra. I’ve been grappling with the grey question for a while. I look forward to hearing your opinion.

  12. Lori Says:

    Hi Abra and Shel-
    Thank you for sharing so much of your life and adventures with us. Wishing you many splendid meals and special moments!

  13. Margaret Pilgrim Says:

    To our sexy silver fox!

  14. Sue Geisler Says:

    Well, Bainbridge is certainly not a bad place to roost. I spent many years in Seattle and in Suquamish and miss that area a lot. I still miss the water views

    It could be worse, eh? Get better, Shel and, Abra, don’t sweat the grey hair – it will look terrific once you get used to it yourself.

    Come down to SF and we’ll do the Tadich trip again. I’m sure that Jackie would come down to join us.

  15. Patricia Calef Says:

    Good Luck and hope all turns out well. I read your blog constantly and am always envying your travel. While I cannot afford to, I can at least see treasures through your pictures. Look forward to when you write again.

    I, too, have been wanting to go grey, but just not that brave yet. Good for you.

  16. Nancy Says:

    Abra, I think you have the grace to be beautiful no matter the color of your hair – or whether you have any.

    I hope you see fit to resume the blog later; in the meantime, I pray that you both may flourish!

  17. Margaret Pilgrim Says:

    Your timing couldn’t be better. Everywhere I turn I read that “grey is the new blond!” Go for it! (I’ve certainly been happy since I did.)

  18. Pat Speidel Says:

    Dearest Abra:Think “Silver”. I saw Babs (she said you were here on Bainbridge again) at the pool today and 2 other lovely silver haired women. With your curls, you will be charming! Love to you and ShelPat PS: I still have your dark blue wiggly back strengthening “balance pillow”. Would you like it?

  19. GPS Tracker Says:

    France sounds like a beautiful country!


Leave a Reply

