Red Velvet Days

I hate taking down the tree, and always leave it up until after New Year’s Day.  Beppo helped me put it up, but I fear he won’t be a lot of help on the way down. A lifelong heathen, it’s the color and brightness of Christmas that I love.  I’m always reluctant to give that up, packing away the light and settling into Darkest Winter.

It’s the only time this year that we had oysters and Champagne, and although we made up for that by having them two nights in a row, I’m sorry to set aside their utter luxury and festivity.

With “the kids” here for Christmas it was the first and last homemade pasta of the year, although it’s something we used to do fairly often, when more of us were around the nightly table. I hate to give up that larger dinner circle too, even though our sons are way past the age of needing us to feed or fend for them.

And when but Christmas would I get to bake Red Velvet Cupcakes?  Even though I no longer eat them, I remember how delicious they are, in all their shocking crimson beauty. I’d love to be able to have one again sometime, but even if I can’t, you can. Please do eat an extra one for me.

This recipe is adapted from one I found on egullet.com years ago, and as far as I know it’s just about perfect.

Red Velvet Cake

2 1/2 c sifted cake flour
2 c sugar
2 T cocoa
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 c buttermilk
3 eggs
1 T cider or white vinegar
1 tsp vanilla
1 oz red food coloring
1/2 cup butter, melted and cooled
1 1/2 c canola oil

Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl. Combine wet ingredients in a medium bowl.  Mix together and stir until smooth.

Pour into 2 8″ round cake pans or 18-20 muffin cups.  Bake at 300°, 40 minutes for cake layers, a little less time for cupcakes. Frost with this basic cream cheese frosting.

Frosting

1 stick butter
1 tsp vanilla
8 oz cream cheese
1 lb powdered sugar
dash of salt

Sift the sugar well before creaming ingredients together until fluffy.  I do this in the stand mixer for the best texture.
News From The Mixing Bowl – We Have a Winner! The winner of the absolutely fair and random name-drawing for Italian Desserts is Eden.  I’ll be contacting you for shipping information, and my thanks to the rest of you for entering.

Explore posts in the same categories: French Letters Visits America, Posts Containing Recipes

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Red Velvet Days”


  1. Since I’m officially a Southern resident, I need a good red velvet cupcake recipe, don’t I?? This one looks fabulous!! Have a lovely New Year!!


  2. Ringo & Gromit won’t be helping us take down our tree either. They would, however, help us eat cake … or whatever else we wanted to clean up.

    Happy New Year to you and Shel!

  3. Eden Says:

    Oh I love good red velvet cake, and haven’t made one in ages! So many recipes out there are just too dry or the chemical dye flavor is stronger than the chocolate flavor, but I trust an Abra approved recipe will not have those failings.

    Thank you for drawing my name for the book, I’m looking forward to playing with it!

  4. Nancy Says:

    Happy New Year to you both, and may the year be as kind to you as your spirits and courage deserve!

    Your posts and photographs are so lovely and evocative that I hate to cavil…but…it’s egullet.org, not egullet.com. That probably won’t matter to anyone doing a web search, but the name as you posted it does not correctly reflect the nature of the organization. You may have been in France when they went non-profit and changed the suffix.

    As others have noted: your photos and writing, one-handed, are better than most people’s two-handed work. Thank you for sharing your blessings!

  5. Janet Says:

    Champagne and oysters for New Years, how marvelously delicious.
    I will try the red velvet cupcakes at a later date. We’ve been rather merry the last few days. 🙂
    Happy New Year and all the best in 2011.

  6. Team Oyeniyi Says:

    Loved the “lifelong heathen”. Me too!


Leave a Reply

