Hello Darkness

“I met a traveller from an antique land
Who said:

Two vast and trunkless legs of stone
Stand in the desert.

Near them on the sand,
Half sunk, a shattered visage lies, whose frown
And wrinkled lip and sneer of cold command
Tell that its sculptor well those passions read
Which yet survive, stamped on these lifeless things,


The hand that mocked them and the heart that fed.
And on the pedestal these words appear:
My name is Ozymandius, King of Kings:
Look on my works, ye mighty, and despair!


Nothing beside remains.  Round the decay
Of that colossal wreck, boundless and bare,
The lone and level sands stretch far away.”

Thus spoke Percy Bysshe Shelley in Ozymandius, recounting and foretelling the rise and fall of mighty nations.  While I do think there’s still hope, after yesterday’s elections I’d say we’re well and truly on the way out.

Explore posts in the same categories: French Letters Visits America

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Hello Darkness”

  1. Nancy Says:

    I hope you’re wrong, but I am also dismayed at the outcome of the elections. Let’s hope we’re both wrong.

    I like the interplay of light, color (or fadedness, if that’s the word) of the photos. When I think of that poem, I think of the statue (one of the Ramses, as I recall) in Egypt, but your wilted flowers and muted colors call up the same sensibility very well. Nice job on the “tea party” script.

  2. Barry Says:

    The Daily Mash , a Scottish Satirical site has a scathing article appro-po the Election results . I watched with dismay and feeling of frustration as Neo Fascists hijacked the USA . The age of Homer Simpson has truly arrived, it is now for all good men to rise up ,cry “OBAMA!” and align the “Tea Party” with it’s true compatriats, The Nazi Party , The National Front ,The IRA the FNP et al . I do hope,with all my heart, that you overcome this setback to your Great Nation Abra ,

  3. Edye Says:

    To Barry,
    It’s time for me to move to another country…..
    I’d like to read the article. Can you please post the link. Thank you.

  4. Lori Says:

    It is pretty sad. Due to America’s need for instantaneous gratification, politics as usual continues.

  5. Sue Says:

    I’m thankful for the right to vote and, while the outcomes are not to my liking at times, at least we have a very small say. I find it a puzzle as to how either party can clean up this mess. Besides our troops stationed in various places, funding two wars is a terrible burden. Scary times, indeed. I’m going back and look at the feast you prepared – it’s much happier to contemplate.


Leave a Reply

