“A Taste Of The Gulf Coast”

I’m not saying you should eat Gulf Coast seafood.  And I’m not saying you shouldn’t.  We’re all wrestling with that conundrum, and I leave it to your best judgement how you implement these recipes.  But try them you should, in the spirit of solidarity with the poor Gulf Coast, which has been hammered beyond belief these last few years, and in the spirit of purely good food.

If you’re the lucky winner of this nice book by Jessie Tirsch, you can soon be cooking such delights as Louisiana Shrimp Stew, Galveston Bay Seafood Soup, Mr. Allen’s All-Day Fish Chowder, Lobsters with Oyster Dressing, Roast Duck with Sweet Potato Stuffing, Candied Ham with Sweet Mustard Dip, Fried Tomato and Bacon Sandwiches with Tomato Milk Gravy, Guava Duff with Brandy Sauce…you get the idea.  The kind of food we always crave but seldom get to have.  In addition to the recipes the book is filled with little “Coast Story” sections imparting Gulf wisdom, factlets, and cool stories at no extra cost.

So if you’re ready to plunge into the art and soul of Gulf Coast cooking, just leave a comment saying so.  If several people would like this book, I’ll put your names in a mixing bowl, give them a good stir, and draw one.  I’ll send it to you and I’ll ask you to pay for the postage, if you can, via PayPal.  For security and anti-spam reasons, please don’t put your email address or snail mail address in the Comments section.  When you comment I see your email address and I’ll contact you soon if I draw your name.  Give this book a good home, make something delicious from it, and I’ll be happy.

Explore posts in the same categories: French Letters Visits America

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on ““A Taste Of The Gulf Coast””

  1. Ujwala Samant Says:

    Sounds interesting… May I add my name to this drawing? I am actually going to New Orleans in Oct for a conference on food security.

  2. Price naryka Says:

    I would love to have this book on Gulf Coast Cooking, and I really will plan on using in entertaining our Atlanta friends as well as our Highlands, North Carolina “buddies”. It would be a treasure. bra, i amsure you are going to recieve lots of “takers” on this one, so please add my name to the mix.

    Price

  3. Linda Says:

    I love Cajun and Gulf Coast cooking having collected a few books myself and one more would be all the better. Please if possible, put me in the drawing. Thank you so much!

  4. Rachel Palmer Says:

    I’m a homesick Louisiana girl living in Oklahoma! I would love to be added to the drawing…merci 😀

  5. arty eater Says:

    I’m an artist in Houston, married to a man from New Orleans. I would love this book! Thanks for including me!

  6. Nancy Says:

    Errm, I feel a bit like a pretender, asking for this book when I have no family in or near the Gulf. But just this evening we had Gulf Shrimp in a pilaf of my own concoction. We spent much of this April dawdling along the Gulf Coast – reveling in shrimp and fish and surf, marveling at the sea creatures washed up on the beach, and enjoying ourselves and the environs. 2 days after we headed for home, the Deepwater Horizon exploded.

    Home? No. Dear to our hearts? Yes. Have we thought about Gulf food safety? Yes. Are we avoiding Gulf food? No. We think the food is safe – for now (who knows what will happen in a year or two) – and we want to support the local industry, so to speak, to the extent that we can.

    Outsider though I am, I’d love to get more insight and local seasoning to this food we’re eating. Please put my name into the mixing bowl.


Leave a Reply

