Beautiful Buttersticks

Have you made the acquaintance of butterstick squash?  Well here you go, meet them in all their glowing golden glory.  For my money it’s the most delicious of all yellow squashes, succulent, firm, sweet, and an all-round team player on your summer table.

In addition to their stunning beauty they have a subtly alluring flavor, one that makes you want to forsake whatever else is on your plate and just stuff yourself with squash.  Lots of people think summer squash is boring and watery,  I think “insipid” is the technical term, but not these babies.  They’re dreamy, if you’re the kind of person that dreams about vegetables.  And if not, they might just get you started.

They’re perfect when sliced thickly and sautéed in butter with a bit of sweet onion or shallot, but after you’ve eaten them that way for five or six meals in a row, because really you just can’t get enough of them, here’s a sweet little recipe you can try.

I got this long ago from my mother-in-law Margaret, who I think got it from an Atlanta restaurant sometime long before that.  It’s an old-fashioned Southern treat that everybody loves.  Double this recipe if you know what’s good for you.

Aunt Fanny’s Squash Casserole

1 lb yellow squash, simmered until tender, and drained
3 T finely chopped onion
3 T cracker crumbs (saltines are good)
1 egg
1/3 cup melted butter, divided use
1 tsp sugar
1 tsp salt
1 tsp black pepper

Preheat oven to 375°.  Place the cooked squash with all of the other ingredients except 2 T melted butter into the food processor and whiz until smooth.  Place this mixture in a buttered casserole dish and drizzle the top with the reserved melted butter.  Bake for 40 minutes.

That’s all there is to it, a deceptively simple recipe that tastes like your very own Aunt Fanny whipped it up for you herself.  While I wish I had an Aunt Fanny right about now,  I do have those beautiful buttersticks and this lovely recipe, so I’m good to go.  Luckily it’s only a few hours until dinner time.

Explore posts in the same categories: French Letters Visits America, Posts Containing Recipes

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

9 Comments on “Beautiful Buttersticks”

  1. Jeanne Says:

    How I wish I had some buttersticks! They look marvelous; I am a big fan of zucchini but not so much the watery yellow squash. I will be scoping out farmer’s markets for these buttersticks and in the meantime, will have to substitute zucchini in Aunt Fanny’s recipe.

    PS, I am still hoping Zazou finds her way home. Hope springs eternal….

  2. Jan Says:

    Funny, I always think of zucchini as watery, but I love yellow summer squash, although my favorite type is crook neck. I love it so much that I planted some this year and it’s starting to get little squashes and blossoms all over. I should branch out and try the buttersticks…they are gorgeous. I also love it just sauteed with butter and onion, but now I’m going to have to try this casserole–sounds delicious!

  3. Larry Says:

    The recipe is from Aunt Fanny’s Cabin, a downtown Atlanta restaurant which was very well known in the 70s for Southern cooking in general and for this dish in particular. They were generous to give out the recipe. I have been making this dish for 30+ years. The original recipe (which I am looking at) put the cracker crumbs on top before sprinking with the reserved butter, which I think is a critical difference. I recently sold a Jeep to an individual who was related to the restaurant owners. Sadly, he told me that they had gone out of business years ago.

  4. Nan Says:

    What a surprise to see this recipe on your site. I also have a copy, have made it and had the pleasure of eating at the restaurant around 1979. Good Southern Food. Now I’m wanting to make the recipe again.

  5. Margaret Says:

    Larry is right. Some crushed saltines on top of the squash casserole are very desirable ! Aunt Fanny’s Cabin is long gone, but the squash casserole lives on.

  6. Abra Bennett Says:

    Of course I make it with friendly-for-diabetics golden flaxmeal instead of crackers, but in the past I’ve always incorporated the cracker crumbs into the batter. I like the consistency it gives the pudding.

  7. Judy K Says:

    I had never noticed them before, but then there they were at the farm stand. My mother LOVED crookneck yellow squash, sliced and fried. I thought they were awful. But these guys are great….I made a modified version, little cubes of squash fried with some onion and carrot. Added the egg, threw in a few panko, topped with buttered panko, baked a bit. Tasty beyond the sum of the parts. Thanks for telling me about this new veg.

  8. Abra Bennett Says:

    Judy – your version sounds really good!

  9. elaine Says:

    I add cooked mashed carrots for color and sweetness (and extra vitamins!)


Leave a Reply

