Fireworks In Our Future

The 4th of July makes my cooking silly.  There’s no other time when I feel that we should have something red, something blue…and I always have fun in the kitchen scratching my head to come up with a truly American dish to make for the holiday.

We’ve been leading a rough existence lately, and I haven’t had much to say.  Life’s been tough, and not in a poetic or photogenic way.  But now Shel, two weeks post-radiation, is starting to get back into the world a little bit, and thus so am I.

He’s made progress since last week, when Beppo had to guard him to make sure he didn’t fall out of his chair while napping.  Let’s just say that Beppo was on duty about 16/24.

But now, the solstice is past, we’ve seen the sun once or twice, the new washer and dryer will arrive tomorrow and finally we can have clean clothes, after a week of being laundry-less, and I’ll have one of my favorite excuses to get out on the deck and fire up the smoker.

I love my outdoor kitchen, where I play with fire all day, and eagerly sniff the sweet cherry wood smoke, particulate be damned.  If there’s anything better to have in your freezer than a bunch of smoked chicken thighs I swear I don’t know what it is.  The pork butt never makes it to the freezer, we love it so.

So on the 4th I’ll put a bunch of meat in the smoker and a heap of vegetables on the grill and call it a feast.  And then, we’ll pull the telescope out on the deck as night falls and get ready for the fireworks over Seattle.  Watching exploding flowers and fountains through the long lens makes them seem to blossom right in your face; it’s a particular ecstasy that only comes once a year.

Will we think about freedom and independence and what it means to be American today?  Does it sound totally corny to say of course!

News From The Mixing Bowl – We Have a Winner! The winner of the absolutely fair and random name-drawing for Trucs of the Trade is Dana.  I’ll be contacting you for shipping information, and my thanks to the rest of you for entering.

Explore posts in the same categories: French Letters Visits America

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Fireworks In Our Future”

  1. Chef Debbie Says:

    So glad to hear that things are getting better. I love the photo of your husband on the recliner; there are few things more comforting than the soft, warm body of a purring cat nestled into your lap.

    I agree, this Independence Day we should all reflect on our unique American history, the courage of our founders and framers, and the lives of brave Americans that have been sacrificed and dedicated to preserving the USA for future generations.

  2. Patricia Says:

    What is the beautiful stuff in the glasses? Can you give us a description of that? Glad Shel is better…

  3. Shel Says:

    I’m not nearly as much of a geezer as that picture implies. Most of the time, anyway….

  4. Nancy Says:

    I’m glad to read that Shel’s coming out of the post-radiation slump. That’s a tough row to hoe, and my prayers are with you both. Beppo looks like he knows well how to be a comforter.

    If/when you have time, I’d love to read more about your smoking technique for pork butt and chicken. I got a new smoker for my birthday and am having loads of fun smoking salmon, chicken, ribs, and so on – but so far I’ve only used hickory. How different is cherry? Why do you pick it!

    Happy celebration weekend!

  5. Jan Says:

    So glad to hear that Shel is feeling better, even if it’s slow-moving. And Shel, regarding that photo, you have very nice looking feet;) Something about the 4th always makes me want the familiar: burgers, ribs, potato salad, strawberry shortcake…it’s a comfort food celebration for sure. And though it may sound corny, we are lucky to live here and have much to be thankful for. (Although the weather sucks!) Happy Independence Day!

  6. Judy K Says:

    When I was in treatment for breast cancer I slept a lot on the couch with a beagle at my feet. Animals are such a great comfort. I’m glad the treatment is done and now the recovery is beginning. Good food should help.


Leave a Reply

