It’s Not All Roses

Sunrise 474

It started with a garage sale.  During the month we’ve been back on our little island we’ve been wrapped in a cocoon of homecoming and culture shock, with time out for travel to San Francisco.  But now, emerging from that cocoon,  I read that there was a garage sale here on the island last week, and that it raised the relatively huge sum, as garage sales go, of $22,000.

That would be great small town news, the kind of thing that we love to read about in our local weekly paper, except for one fact.  The garage sale, and a few bake sales, and a couple of car washes, were all held to raise money to pay the island’s teachers.  Twelve teachers were recently laid off in crisis-engendered budget cuts, and the community is trying to save their jobs, one car wash at a time.

I’m trying to imagine such a thing happening in France, but I’m pretty sure that under similar circumstances people would be marching in the streets and shutting the system down, instead of baking cookies to sell.

Sunrise 314

Then this morning I was at the clinic, getting a mammogram.  If you’ve had one, you know that often the technician tries to distract you from the discomfort by chattering away while she presses and prods.  But today she told me that she’d had five patients in a row who were desperate to sell their houses, but because there are so many foreclosures and the market is awash in houses for sale, people who really need to move are thinking of giving their houses back to the bank.

I’d really never imagined that happening here in our affluent community.  But I remember that when I used to be a personal chef on the island I’d often come home with tales of young couples with young children living in million dollar houses, and wonder aloud where they got the money, how they managed to have two or three times the house we did, at half our age.  I imagine that some of those families now find themselves on the verge of giving up their homes, some of those kids’ teachers are out of a job and are unlikely to be rescued by a garage sale bonanza.  Knowing how it all unraveled doesn’t make it any easier.

Sunrise garden 052

After the clinic I went to buy groceries, and because these salal plants are a long way from bearing fruit, I was hunting for berries in the produce aisle.  A grocery store staff member that I’ve known for years, and who is just about exactly my age, helped me out.  When I asked her if she were thinking of retiring she said that she, along with the other folks that staff the store, had lost so much of her retirement funds in the crisis that she’d be working at least another six years, until she’s 65.

Again I thought of France, where people usually retire between 50 and 55, and where the fact that retirees got only a 4% cost of living increase on their retirements this year, an increase that was said to be held down by the crisis, brought about a national outcry that still echoes in my ears.

It’s a global financial crisis, and so even in France these days it’s not la vie en rose, but I have to say that it looks very thorny here, by comparison.

Explore posts in the same categories: French Letters Visits America

4 Comments on “It’s Not All Roses”

  1. eric Says:

    You can’t shut the system down here… You’ll get arrested! Protests are considered “low-level terrorism” by the DoD.

  2. Lee Says:

    I appreciate your reminders of what others are going through. Each day I thank the universe that with my own life changes I am not on the street or having to ask for favors from friends…my dad, 75, is on unemployment [!] because he never had planned properly and the small company he’s worked for over 20 years had to lay him off as there is no business…very topsy turvy world right now!

  3. zuleme Says:

    I think one of the saddest things is seeing bake sales and fundraisers for people who are sick and have no insurance. That happens here in our small town in NH. We have no retirement funds but can continue to work in our small business as long as we can get work. And we own two houses. So we’ll figure something out. Unless we get sick, in which case we’ll be broke or go back to Sweden, since my husband in Swedish. Maybe they’d take us in.

  4. zuleme Says:

    I can’t imagine retiring at 50 or 55. I’d love to. I would never run out of things to do or be interested in.


Leave a Reply

