Only In San Francisco

San Francisco 238

So, there we were at 4th and Market, waiting for the Amtrak bus to collect us and deliver us to the train.  We looked up, and whoa!

San Francisco 152

And before that, there we’d been, waiting for a pizza at Za’s, when I looked up to yell something to Shel  about the blasting reggae accompanying our wait, and wow!

San Francisco 007

San Francisco’s got that ineffable something, or as we’re fond of saying around here, “it has a certain je ne sais quoi but I don’t know what it is.”

San Francisco 025

In San Francisco buying bread from a pink-haired charmer seems normal,

San Francisco 086

as does standing at the feet of Sun Yat Sen in the middle of St. Mary’s Square,

San Francisco 084

in the heart of Chinatown, where cultures commingle cozily.

San Francisco 115

Where else but in San Francisco could two fearless women get 80-90 strangers waiting to ride the cable car to sing” Happy Birthday dear Dave” to a guy who didn’t even look embarrassed by the attention?

San Francisco 157

Where else can you sit under a gigantic stained glass dome and lunch on an $18 Reuben sandwich?

San Francisco 225

It’s not just everywhere that you’ll see brown pelicans giving huge container ships a run for their money,

San Francisco 008

or street musicians vying with pigeons for the last few feet of space on the edge of the continent.

San Francisco 215

Even though I haven’t lived there in more years than you might imagine,  I’ll freely admit that be it ever so quirky, ever so gorgeous, ever so free to be you and me and it and only itself, there’s no place in the world like the town I once called home.

Explore posts in the same categories: French Letters Visits America

8 Comments on “Only In San Francisco”

  1. Margaret Says:

    Abra, I loved the San Franciso blog. It ended too soon. I wanted more words, more pictures. XXX

  2. Lori Says:

    I’ve only been once but loved it and know I’ll get back there again soon.

  3. Eden Says:

    I haven’t dined at The Rotunda for probably 20 years – thanks for sharing the memories of my old stomping grounds! Love the D-9 ad!

  4. Sue Geisler Says:

    Some of your pleasures are only enjoyed by me when I have out-of-town company. I hope you visited the park and saw the not-so new, but new to you, DeYoung and the Academy of Sciences. Such an awesome change from the old buildings and exhibits.

    The paintings at Coit are so great – I’m glad that you included pictures of them in a previous post.

  5. Abra Bennett Says:

    Sadly, we didn’t make it to any of those attractions. This was really a flying business visit, with only time to cram in the most basic tourist stuff. Next time, though, we’ll see more.

  6. Barry Twyman Says:

    BUT , where is the “Free Shrimp Tomorrow” sign Shel told me about ? lol

  7. Margaret Pilgrim Says:

    You somehow missed “Bushman” who sits behind several huge branches on the Embarcadero sidewalk north of Pier 39. He waits for complaisant walkers and jumps out from his cover with a loud roar. I’ve lived here for many decades and he caught me flat footed. You might have heard me respond on your island or even in France. I love San Francisco!

  8. jessica Says:

    Thank you for the trip down memory lane to my hometown. You make it seem so close although it is so far away from Philadelphia.


Leave a Reply

