Gobsmacking Timewarp

Sunrise 011

Nothing’s changed.  And when I say nothing, I mean rien du tout.  It’s very late when we walk into the house, nearly midnight.  The clock has stopped, but when?  At 4:13, yes, I see, but what day?  What month?  What year?  We’ve been gone for 20 months, and time could have stopped at any moment since then.

Sunrise 026

We walked out of this house in August of 2007, and no one’s turned the page on our kitchen calendar since then.  Although we nominally had tenants for the first year we were away they spent only a few weeks here, and lived very lightly upon the land.

Sunrise 001

Things I left for them to use, salt, a welcoming bottle of bubbly tied with a gay ribbon, condiments, teas, spices, oils, vinegars,

Sunrise 007

and even some chocolate sprinkles for their morning toast, are still here, seemingly untouched. 

Sunrise 023

Actually, the fact that they left it all just as they found it turned out to be a benefit at our first lunchtime in the house.  The battery in the car had given up the ghost, and the market being out of foot reach, I nonchalantly opened the cupboards and made a meal from ancient foodstuffs that I’d thought they might use.  It’s amazing how the passage of nearly two years hadn’t affected the cans of beans, green chilis, olives, and dried potato flakes that the cupboard yielded up.  Even the spice cabinet didn’t fail me, the pungent Rancho Gordo Mexican oregano and a tightly sealed tin of pimenton disproving the adage that all spices turn to dust and need to be tossed once a year.  Our first “home cooked” meal, composed of foods I abandoned to their fate so long ago that I’d forgotten them completely.

It turns out that I had forgotten almost every single thing in this house, recognizing it now on sight with an “oh wow, that’s mine?” sensation.

Sunrise 010

The music I was singing before we left is still open on the piano.  Can I even still sing Un certo non so che?

Sunrise 020

The dishes, the linens, all as we left them.  But what is this, the North Pole?  Why do we have so many blankets?  No sooner do I wonder that than we begin rooting through boxes searching for fleece and flannel.  We brought summer clothes back from France, but here it’s grey, cool, and rainy.  We shiver and cough and  sit by the fire.

There are 43 messages on the answering machine, each marked with the time of the call, but not the date or year.  Those calls urging us to vote for Obama are identifiably last year’s, a moment of history preserved.  But the stranger who called twice asking me to send her some of my vinegar mother, made slightly famous by this article  in Food and Wine?  What would she think if I return her call a year or two late?Sunrise 012

Only the garden betrays the passage of time.   When I left the rhubarb plant was so young and timid that I didn’t dare to harvest much of it.  Now, in only the middle of May, there’s enough fruit for a dozen pies.

There’s very little noticeable change on the rest of the island, either.  My favorite checker at the grocery store has retired.  Our neighbor has some new grey hair.  Aside from that, it’s like we never left. 

And because everything is exactly as we left it, it’s as if we dreamed our life in France.  If things had changed here, we’d be thinking “that’s natural, we’ve been away a long time, things do move on.”  But as I empty well-aged bottles of olive oil and toss dusty tea bags, find my bathrobe hanging on the back of the bathroom door where I inadvertantly left it, and wash my hair with a vintage 2007 Aveda shampoo, I have to wonder.  Is there really a house in France that we called home just ten short days ago?

Wait, I know.  I still have a deeply-ingrained habit of checking the bed for scorpions before I hop in.  I must have learned that somewhere.

Explore posts in the same categories: French Letters Visits America

8 Comments on “Gobsmacking Timewarp”

  1. maryse Says:

    Le temps s’est arrêté. Mais la vie, elle , continue. Vous allez “réapprivoiser” votre ancienne demeure; “retrouver” vos anciennes habitudes !! peut-être pas ! ce long voyage avec les français aura laissé des traces! peut-être !

  2. Steve Sando Says:

    I’ve been meaning to tell you for 20 months how happy I am that you’ve been having such an adventure and how lucky we are that you’ve been documenting it. I’m late with everything but now seems as good a time as any to say thank you! It’s been swell!

  3. Steve Roth Says:

    >disproving the adage that all spices turn to dust and need to be tossed once a year.

    AHA!!! I always suspected that…

  4. zuleme Says:

    It seems like that to me whenever I leave home. But then, I haven’t been away for longer than a month. 20 would really make it dreamlike. My vegetable garden would be choked with weeds. The lawn would be sky high. In winter you would not be able to get down the drive.
    Where are Beppo and Zazou staying?
    I found your blog a while ago and read through it, enjoying all of it and very sympathetic to your health issues. I appreciate it a lot as I dream of France ( we will be going this fall) and I hope you will continue. I can’t cook like you but I look for simple recipes I can manage.
    Thanks for writing.

  5. Abra Bennett Says:

    Beppo and Zazou are here http://www.lejardindeschats.fr/ at a five star kitty hotel, where we can watch them via webcam. I can’t decide whether it’s sadder to watch them, or not to.

  6. zuleme Says:

    ooh, I understand. I lie here with Harper and Ramona cuddled up on a rainy morning and can’t bear the thought of being away from them. We will only be away for two weeks but they will not understand. They take turns sleeping in my arms.
    I’m going to record my voice calling them in so my mother in law can play it at dinner time. Maybe I’ll have my husband set up a kitty cam.

  7. Sandra Says:

    Perhaps that is why Beppo and Zazou remained in France – the reason to return “home”. One is not limited to one “home”! At the moment, my husband and I are in France, enjoying many of the things you love about France. We’ll be returning “home” in Gig Harbor, WA soon.


  8. For me it is the strangest thing to come back to the house and the life that we left behind, albeit for only 6 or so months at a time. Like putting back on skin that you’ve shed, there is relief that the old jeans still fit and surprise as I get reacquainted with a favorite but forgotten pair of shoes. Enjoy your ‘re-entry’ time, its a boon to be able to see your own life thru fresh eyes.
    As for the kitties…I’m not sure I could watch the video cam either.
    Wishing you ‘forza’ as you pick up your old life and face your challenges. Judith


Leave a Reply

