A Waste Of Good Orangina

cooking-in-france-1372-1

We love Orangina, it’s that simple.  Now that we live in France there’s always some in the house, but I’ve been drinking it off and on for as long as I can remember.  Way back when I had my first glass I felt incredibly sophisticated drinking it, a French soda that contains actual juice.  That moment of self-satisfaction lasted until I discovered Mateus rosé, which was the hilarious height of sophistication at the time, then until the moment I discovered a new chic in  drinking soy milk, then lapsang souchong tea, then gin and tonic.  Fickle, I was, and all this before I was 23.  After which I finally realized that sophistication was beyond my grasp, no matter what I drank, and I let Orangina slip out of sight for a time.  But now I’m rehabilitated, and Orangina once more graces our fridge, ready to refresh the hottest and tiredest among us at the sip of a drop.

However, I’ve never thought of it as a baking ingredient.  But tonight I felt like baking a new recipe, a carrot, orange and chocolate bread pudding, made with a lot of orange juice and rum-soaked raisins.  I had everything in the house, it sounded delicious, why not give it a try?    I melted butter, chopped chocolate,  rescued the stale loaf of bread that had been destined for an ignominious end in the trash bin.  But all too soon I realized that although I did indeed have two oranges, and they were in fact juicy, I would have needed at least eight of them to reach the required amount of orange juice.  I thought about substituting milk, or even, heaven help me, white wine.  And then, in a flash of inspiration, the cheerful label of the Orangina bottle appeared before my eyes.  And quicker than you can say “juice and strain eight oranges” the deed was done, and my diced stale bread was soaking in an invigorating Orangina bath.  I imagined a delightfully original pudding.

Let me just say this about that: if you’re having the Queen to dinner, or Paul Bocuse, do not make this.  Or if you do, please don’t mention my name.

cooking-in-france-1389

Somehow, without the usual milk to blend with the eggs and add structure to the pudding, what you end up with looks like a dog’s breakfast.  I’m not saying it doesn’t taste pretty good.  I’m not saying that I didn’t eat rather too much of it.  I’m just saying.

I actually think the same problem would have obtained with orange juice, so I’m not blaming the Orangina at all.  And the pudding does have a certain gooey appeal, an evening alone with a good book kind of thing.  It’s a French recipe, and it contains actual juice.  It’s flat-out unsophisticated and confidence-shakingly unattractive.  I keep nibbling at it to see if it’s getting any better.  Not so far.

I’ll post the recipe if you really want me to, but you’ll have to promise not to blame me if someone asks “what the heck is this?”  Just say it’s French, and smile.

Explore posts in the same categories: At Home In France

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “A Waste Of Good Orangina”


  1. Too funny…. I’ve had my share of these experiments!
    Your Orangina was my San Pellegrino Limonata, I thought I was so cool with my Limonata, until I discovered LEMON SODA. Much tastier and tarter, it just has this dreadful label and name.
    I still like a gin and tonic on a hot evening… so I guess I’ll just never be cool.

  2. Lorna Says:

    So the “custard” base was Orangina, eggs, and sugar? It doesn’t look terrible, and I think the rum-soaked raisins sound delicious.

  3. Abra Bennett Says:

    Yes, the juice of my two lonely oranges, plus Orangina, eggs, sugar, and melted butter, and a little flour. It tastes better today, chilled, but I’d still rather have all of the elements separately. Except the stale bread, of course.

  4. Sue Geisler Says:

    I put rum-soaked raisins in my bran muffins I give them a minute and a half in the microwave and then let them sit for a spell before draining and adding. Also, the drained off liquid mixes nicely with buttermilk to make banana bread.

    Sue in San Francisco.

  5. Abra Bennett Says:

    Yum, Sue, that sounds really good. Although personally I’d just drink the rum.

  6. Sue Geisler Says:

    “personally I’d just drink the rum.”

    I had another thought about the rum. Just bought four ounces of vanilla beans for a ery good price and they are “stewing” in a bottle of moderately good brandy to make vanilla. I wonder how rum would do instead of, or with, the brandy.

    BTW – if you see Heinz and Christina this year – give them my best – I haven’t heard from him since the holidays.


  7. I love Orangina- I thought it was only popular among Italians, but now they sell it at Trader Joe’s, thankfully so Americans can enjoy it, too. Is it just as popular in France?

  8. Abra Bennett Says:

    It’s still wildly popular here because…it’s basically French. Here’s the interesting history of Orangina in a nutshell http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Orangina


Leave a Reply

