Down The Rabbit Hole

Shel’s voice has been fading away all day long, but we tried to take full advantage of yesterday.  In a triumph of the mundane over the romantic, that has unfortunately included utterances like “have you paid the bills yet?”, “the shower drain is stopped up again,” and “is there enough gas in the car to get to the train station?”  Because tomorrow we’re off to Lyon to see the cancer doctors, to find out what our options are.  We know it’s going to be a life-changing visit, but we don’t know in what ways.  Outside the wind is whipping, there’s been thunder and lightning, and all I really want to do is put my head under the covers and suck my thumb.  And I don’t even suck my thumb.  But you know what I mean.

Speaking of life-changing visits, today was the final home nurse visit from Shel’s last hospitalization.  At first twice a day, then once, then three times a week, a nurse came to the house to give injections, draw blood, and change bandages.  The bill for two weeks worth of in-home TLC?  90 Euros, about $125.  Kind of makes you wonder, doesn’t it?

Keep warm, speak kindly to the ones you love, and suck your thumb for me.

Explore posts in the same categories: At Home In France

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

10 Comments on “Down The Rabbit Hole”

  1. Lauren Says:

    “…speak kindly to the ones you love…” something I need to remind myself to do more often. Every day as I read your posts I find tears stinging my eyes. I can’t even imagine how scary this must be for you and I think about you constantly.

  2. Eden Says:

    ditto what Lauren just said.

    Those phrases may not be romantic, but they are the product of sharing life together, which makes them in their own mundane way still words of love…

  3. Barry Twyman Says:

    Don’t fret guys , if love can heal , you have a surfiet .

    Hope all goes well in Lyon , Sylvie sends her prayers and love along with us all .

    We plan to play with Shel chez Hall , ASAP . So no slacking !

  4. Jeanne Says:

    Courage, je t’embrasse avec tout mon coeur …

  5. Ray Says:

    j’espere que tout va bien pour tous les deux a Lyon

  6. Rebecca263 Says:

    Being the one who is ill, I often have no idea what is transpiring in my loved ones’ hearts. Your recent posts remind me that this difficult journey is not being travelled alone. I admire you and Shel a great deal, and hope for joy, peace, comfort and a return to better health in your lives.

  7. EHS Says:

    I have two friends who have lost their voices due to this horrible decease. Yet, they are BOTH surviving and thriving quite well. The point being, they are alive (for many years now) and still love to eat, drink, and be merry!

    This is a very difficult time but I have pure faith that Shel and Abra will pull through this… My prayers to them both…

  8. Jan Lang Says:

    What a precious gift that day of clear speech must have been, but so sad to have it fade. I also have been near tears as I read your posts and think about you both. Not knowing what else to say, just know that we are continuing to keep you in our thoughts.

  9. Wolfgang Says:

    If this is the only road to go on,
    it will be a rough and a stony one, but you got at least a road to go along.
    Never loose hope in such hard times.

    Remember at the end of this dark winding stony road,
    there is a home and a life to return to

    Get going and you will win!

  10. Nancy Says:

    I’m praying for you both: for strength and comfort, and a good outcome and return to health. I’m also giving thanks for your gift to us, and your example of love and comfort, given and received. Blessings on you both..


Leave a Reply

