A Taste Of Honey

 I love honey like my honey loves me.  Maybe even more.  And since I’ve discovered the honey from the Miellerie de Clairan in the tiny hamlet of Cannes et Clairan, I’ve been in honey heaven.  This is what’s on my counter at the moment, and I’m shocked to see that I’ve let myself run out of lavender honey, which when made by these guys is one of my all-time favorites.  How can that have happened?

One look at this door tells you that at the Miellerie de Clairan they mean business, honey business, and nothing but.  No flashy publicity, no website, a barely-paved track to their shop, and the best honeys I’ve ever tasted in my life.  At least a dozen types, many truly exceptional, some award-winning.

Walk through it at your peril, you’re sure to emerge with sticky lips and a nose full of sweet reminders of summer, not to mention a sackful of take-home treasures.

There are candles that smell edible,

 

nougats that, when given as hostess gifts will earn you an extra bisou, if you manage not to eat the gift yourself before the hostess gets her chance,

all their beautiful honeys, and even

jams and fresh eggs.  It’s a tiny shop, but it’s hard to leave.

If you’re a honey nut like I am, and if you have a collection of honey just waiting to be put to a good use, here’s a wonderful honey dessert, Flan Souffle al Miel, that really shows off the flavor of the most interesting honey you can find.  And if you have a favorite honey recipe to share, please post it in the Comments section.  More is always better when it comes to honey, and that’s the buzz.

Explore posts in the same categories: At Home In France, Posts Containing Recipes

5 Comments on “A Taste Of Honey”

  1. Eden Says:

    That Miele du Causse is dreamy! I’m still hoarding my jar (btw is Causse a plant or a place?)

    Here’s a honey custard from Ancient Rome for your amusement:

    Roman Custard (J.Edwards translation: from Apcius)
    Take sufficient milk for the size of the cake pan. Mix the milk with honey just as if you were making milk food. Then put in five eggs to a pint of the honey-milk mixture, or three eggs to half a pint. Dissolve the eggs into the milk so that the resulting mixture is smooth. Strain into a clay vessel and cook over a slow fire. When the custard is firm, sprinkle with pepper and serve.

    My very rough modern recipe:
    2 cups half & half or whole milk
    1/4 cup honey
    5 eggs
    pinch of white pepper

    mix everything together pour into a baking dish & bake at 300f for an hour or so, till set. Serve warm.

  2. Abra Says:

    The causses are neither an exact place nor a flower, but an area of limestone plateaus. There’s a Wikipedia entry at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Causses that explains a bit about them.

    That custard looks lovely, and I’m glad to have the modern version. I was a bit stuck on “milk food!” The addition of pepper is slightly amazing, pre-modern.

  3. Eden Says:

    “milk food” is a poorly phrased translation of the latin word “lactantia”, a milk based dish…

    The romans were very big on pepper, it’s called for in almost every dish we have from them, savory or sweet. I really enjoy the little bite the pepper adds to this dish against the sweetness of the honey & the silkiness of the custard.
    Thanks Abra, you’ve inspired me to make this dish again after not thinking of it for several years!

  4. Betty C. Says:

    I live on a Causse — le Causse Comtal in Aveyron. There is some good honey made around here too. I love the “creamy” ones — à la lavande especially!

  5. Shaya Says:

    We got hooked on the Miel du Maquis in Corsica when we were there for our honeymoon. Fabulously armomatic with the taste of the wild flowers of the region. We have not come across it since then.


Leave a Reply

