Going To Pot

market-199.jpg

Have I ever mentioned that I’m obsessed with pottery?  Honest, I could attend a chocolate fair without even taking a bite, but take me to a pottery fair at your own risk.

market-193.jpg

If you’d followed me around, and around, and around again at the Uzès pottery fair this weekend your feet would have needed a good soak too.

market-192.jpg

I do tend to lean toward practical pots,

market-198.jpg

ones I can take into the kitchen,

market-196.jpg

or leave on the counter.  But I’m also drawn to impractical beauty.

market-200.jpg

Even some pots that are nominally practical seem to be too beautiful for kitchen use,

market-205.jpg

and I just can’t imagine putting them to use for something as pedestrian as a Brussels sprout gratin.

market-209.jpg

Some of it reminded me of pottery from the U.S.,

market-206.jpg

a lot was clearly Japanese-influenced,

market-208.jpg

and even North Africa was present.

There’s hardly anything more down-to-earth than pottery, but I have to say that being surrounded by clay and people who like to get their hands dirty with it made for a heavenly way to spend Easter.

Explore posts in the same categories: At Home In France

4 Comments on “Going To Pot”

  1. Tamara Says:

    A whole fair full of pottery? With that kind of quality. Oh dear…..

  2. Lauren Says:

    There’s a lot of bad pottery out there but, when it’s done right, it’s stunning. I’m hooked on it too. Beautiful photos Abra!

  3. Ray Says:

    Hi Abra…fabulous…as a former potter I’m so inspired…can any of these be found on a website for ordering? DO tell….

  4. Abra Says:

    Ray, some might have websites. Which ones specifically interest you?


Leave a Reply

