Sending Flowers

les-palmiers-125.jpg

Just when I needed them, France sent me flowers.  It’s an early, fragile spring this year.

les-palmiers-131.jpg

The cherry tree is covering itself cautiously with blossoms, opening just a few at a time lest wind destroy the crop.  I’ve heard that this tree produces wonderful fruit, and I’m hoping that this will be a good year for cherries.  It’s poignant, because the palm tree next to it, like all the palm trees in our yard and many of the palms in the south of France, is dying from a noxious infestation of grubs.

lyon-023.jpg

Sometimes a flower is just a flower, just beauty, just something that stops you in your tracks with its extravagant impracticality.

les-palmiers-120.jpg

My favorites are the flowers that remind me of the fruit to come, and in the process remind me of how to live: before we can have fruit, flowers must fall.

Explore posts in the same categories: At Home In France

2 Comments on “Sending Flowers”

  1. Ray Says:

    thank you…lovely photos…..inspiring thoughts.

  2. beth Says:

    I love flowers and the way you show them! gardening is one of my biggest passions


Leave a Reply

