What Is It About Lyon?

lyon-031.jpg

It’s considered to be the center of French gastronomy.  It’s got two rivers running through it.  It’s full of beautiful old buildings, charming neighborhoods, and an excellent public transportation system.

lyon-020.jpg

Nah, just kidding.  There’s a metro, a tram, and buses galore, but honestly, don’t you wish you had a cute little Smart Car of your own to park just any old where?

lyon-016.jpg

I know it’s heresy, but I think I’d rather live in Lyon than in Paris.  Despite the fact that not one of the life-sized and life-like folks in this picture is really alive, personally I find Lyon to be a much more livable and real  place than its famous sister.

lyon-021.jpg

Maybe it’s because our most recent visit coincided with the arrival of springtime.

lyon-027.jpg

Maybe it was the profusion of lovely food everywhere we looked.

lyon-010.jpg

Or maybe it was the cheese.  When we go to Lyon we bring home cheese.  Quite a lot of cheese, much of it ripe and smelling super-cheesy.  I’m sure that our TGV companions are smiling slightly and thinking ahead to their own suppers as the sexy smell of ripe raw milk cheese wafts through the speeding train.

lyon-036.jpg

And then there’s the fact that Shel’s doctor in Lyon looks like a super model (sorry guys, no picture of her) and takes super good care of him.  And that Lyon is a supremely walkable city, allowing one to work up an appetite that needs no apologies.  And that tripe is on every menu in town, which is a big plus in my view.  It’s hard to be too uppity when eating tripe.  You can still take yourself seriously, but in a good way, knowing that you are joining the rest of the city in its efforts to systematically recycle the interior parts of cows.

We’ll be going to Lyon once a month and I’ll take the camera along again, and although I’m pretty sure that the gorgeous doctor will not be making an appearance on this page, you can always hope.   There’s bound to be more cheese though, if that’s any consolation.

Explore posts in the same categories: At Home In France

8 Comments on “What Is It About Lyon?”

  1. Lucy V Says:

    Great to see you two when you came through, and I’m so happy to hear that you did get the cheese you were looking for.

  2. Rebecca263 Says:

    I’m hoping that Shel’s monthly visits are for maintenance and nothing more! Abra, thank you so very much for this web log…I’ve enjoyed peeking in and seeing your adventure unfold, whenever I’m feeling up to the internet.
    Really, thank you- it’s all been lovely, lovely, lovely, and heartwarming.

  3. Eden Says:

    So good to hear that Shel is being taken good care of!

  4. Mark Says:

    Goodness that’s a lot of bleu. Did you actually buy any fruits confits? I’m wondering if they taste as good as they look…

  5. Betty C. Says:

    I agree, Lyons is magic. We are lucky enough to have some friends who live in a lovely part of it and we have spent some great weekends there.

  6. Sandra Gilmore Says:

    Hello — I met you briefly at Silver City Brewery in Silverdale, WA when I was having lunch with my best friend of over 40 years…Charlene Cooper. She gave me your website and I have been enjoying your entries. My husband and I go to France just about every year as it is the place we like best. Your entry about Lyon brought memories of the good food there. I wanted to share the bouchon that we think was the best food we’ve ever had. My husband wants to go back and have everything they have on the menu. The Bouchon Lyonnaise Restaurant is named La Meuniere. We have spent a lot of time in the area where you have rented a house. Keep enjoying your experiences.

  7. Abra Says:

    Thanks, Sandra. I’ll check out La Meunière for sure.

  8. John DePaula Says:

    Abra,

    Have you found a good guide for the extensive network of ‘traboules’ in Lyon? I hear they’re quite something else to see.

    Thanks for your fun and inspiring blog!


Leave a Reply

