It’s In The Bag

dsc04988.jpg

Ok, here’s where I admit that I’ve been holding out on you.  We returned from the Pays Basque with a new family member, one who’s played a part in each of our days since that trip.  He’s been living a rather ignominious existence lately, huddled in one of those structures made from cardboard that signify a truly desperate state of homelessness, clothing wrinkled, being nicked and picked at by long sharp knives. 

Finally, today, he’s in shape to be revealed in all his glory.  But it’s fun to tease you, and perhaps one or two of you harbors a little foot fetish, so I’ll make it a slow reveal.  Remember that lop-eared pig?  Nope, wrong guess.  Imagine another lop-eared pig just like the other lop-eared pig and you’ll be getting warmer.

Explore posts in the same categories: At Home In France

5 Comments on “It’s In The Bag”

  1. Tamara Says:

    We must be on the same wavelength, even from oceans away. We just hung our first two guanciale and are going to smoke some bacon tomorrow. Mmmmmm.

  2. Arne Says:

    I was feeling all happy that I’d spent the day smoking various sorts of meats. Your recent aquisition simply eclipses my accomplishments today, and now I’m just sad.

    Okay, maybe that’s a bit melodramatic.

    I can’t wait for the unveiling!


  3. Which side of the border?

    Sadly, I have to wait until next February to get the one I started in 2006.

  4. Abra Says:

    It’s a 100% French ham, but Basque, which is one step away. What did you do in 2006, Dave?

    And Arne, you don’t know how much I’d love to have a way to smoke here. I’m envying you!


  5. In February 2006 I did the ‘pig experience’ We spent two days at a farmhouse doing the whole charcuterie thing with three pigs. (There were six of us (I was the only foreigner.) plus the farmers wife, who knew what she was doing & her daughter.)
    We did 3 kinds of pate which we canned, we did rôti & jambonneau and 4 kinds of sasauge which had to age for varying times;u p to 6 weeks.
    And we did a ham each which has to cure for one year. So, I’m waiting with bated breath for February.


Leave a Reply

