Early Morning Rain

dsc04531.jpg

Yesterday I began making the garden my own, raking piles of leaves, sweating indelicately as I did so, and thinking it was still summer.  As a reward for my 15 minutes of labor, these delicious treats.  A moussy-soft goat cheese, a smoothly running sheep cheese that smells exactly like hugging a fluffy but none-too-clean sheep, and a lightly sweet grape apéritif wine. 

Then this morning, before the 5:00 church bells, there was a sudden downpour of rain. 

Now the cushions on the terrace chairs are steaming in the sunlight (oops, apparently they’re not waterproof) and the hitherto dusty garden is glowing green.  Beppo is perched on the terrace dining table, up where it’s dry, paws spread wide, cleaning out bits of unaccustomed mud from between his toes.  A neighbor is burning a pile of wet leaves, the thick smoke lying low under a damp sky.

If there’s anything better than rain in the night, it could only be waking up with the one you love and having

dsc04514.jpg

la pascade Cévenole for breakfast.  Mmm, frangipane cream.  Sounds like flowers, tastes like a dream.

Explore posts in the same categories: At Home In France

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Early Morning Rain”

  1. Robin Glover Says:

    I have been enjoying reading of your experiences so far in France, your very gifted at writing and I plan on following your adventures for the next year. A little news update: I finished up at your home here in the Northwest this morning, I wanted to make sure that when your tentants came on Tuesday that all was well and I am happy to report that your house is completely cleaned and looks great. As I was cleaning I could hear the birds singing and I thought about how they must be enjoying the break from Beppos hunting skills. Have a great day…Robin

  2. Jeanne Says:

    Abra! How lovely to live vicariously through your adventures in France! Loved the hair ornament 🙂

    I desperately want to make la pascade Cevenole – it looks a little like a gateau basque (I’ve never made one of those either). Any clues?

    Looking forward to the next installment. Enjoy EVERY minute…

    Jeanne

  3. Lee Says:

    Ah! There was early morning and mid day rain here in Portland as well. But sadly, no lovely cheeses or tempting pastries to munch upon while listening to the rain fall. And, really, to jump into the SUV and drive five miles to the nearest French pastry shop, well it just ruins the mood! I will continue to live vicariously thru your blog!!

    hugs, Lee

  4. Annie Says:

    You get to enjoy all that after 15 minutes of leaf raking??? If I got that stuff, hell, I’d rake more leaves! (to get more stuff.)

  5. Meredith Says:

    Abra,
    I am lapping up every post with awe and envy. How I’d like to run off to live in France, sigh….I hope you’ll be cooking and posting pics & recipes in the future–I’ve been reading your eG posts for years!

    I’d love to hear more about how you were able to arrange this wonderful adventure for yourselves, i.e. the inspiration, job transfer?, saving up enough money to run off?, how long from the dream to fruition? etc. I need to have a plan to aspire to!


  6. […] with a cauliflower purée and green beans, a perfect Saint-Félicien cheese, a sweet piece of pascade Cévenole for the three of them, and I knew that all of that would be delicious, but meanwhile, I was […]


Leave a Reply

