Here’s The Beef

‘Tis the season to be cooking, and thinking about cooking, and planning festive meals, and all the holiday pleasures. But somehow, amidst the turkey fantasies, I developed a mad craving for beef. I never used to enjoy beef much, but over the last few years I’ve discovered two cuts that I really love: hangar steaks, and côte de boeuf.

The beautiful côte you see here is from Painted Hills, in Oregon. Grass fed, then finished on barley and corn, it’s the most delicious thing imaginable. I’m always looking for more flavor and more fat in beef, and the combination of grass pasturing for flavor and health, then the grain finish, produces just about a perfect proportion of both. Plus, this one got some dry aging, and that dark edge from the aging is utterly delicious eating.

This côte weighed about two pounds and was several inches thick, calling for slow cooking in a butter bath. This is my version of a technique I picked up long ago on eGullet, and although you probably will think it sounds nuts, I can promise you that it works to perfection.

Remove the côte from the fridge an hour before cooking and allow it to come up to room temperature. Melt some butter with a little olive oil in a cast iron pan over medium heat. Reduce heat to medium low and place the meat in the pan. Set the timer for 5 minutes. After 5 minutes flip the meat and reset the timer for another 5 minutes. Now add more butter, and set the timer for 20 minutes. Flip the meat every 5 minutes or so, basting it with the browned butter and juices. Add additional butter as needed, you want to have plenty available for basting. The côte should be getting a more and more caramelized and appetizing crust each time you flip and baste. I like it to be medium-rare all the way through, and 30 minutes is usually just right. If I decide to use the thermometer, I pull it out of the pan at just about 120°. This will produce meat that is red but not bloody, all the way through, and beautifully browned and crispy on the outside.

Let the beef rest for at least 5 minutes. During that time you can either toss some thinly sliced onions, or even mushrooms, into the pan juices and fry them up. Or you can do as I often do and add a good glug of Madeira or Port to the hot pan and simmer for a couple of minutes as it reduces, then drizzle this sauce over the sliced meat as you serve it, along with a shower of sea salt and freshly ground black pepper. Bon appétit!

Explore posts in the same categories: French Letters Visits America, Posts Containing Recipes

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “Here’s The Beef”

  1. Jen Says:

    I don’t eat beef but your description has me wanting to start. Sounds divine.

  2. Sharon Says:

    That sounds delicious!

  3. Barbara Says:

    Yummy! Sounds good. Now you cooked it on top of the stove, it looks like?

  4. Abra Bennett Says:

    Yes, on the stove top in a cast iron skillet.


  5. *drool* I can’t agree with you enough that you should bring your meat up to room temperature before cooking. It’s amazing how many people I know don’t actually do that….

  6. DianeKirkland Says:

    Abra, this looks like something my beef-loving family would enjoy. I called Red Apple Market in Kirkland who didn’t have a clue about the cut (who’s on first type of conversation), so I emailed your article to them. The butcher emailed back and said it was a “cowboy steak” — thick cut with the bone in.

    Is the cut you have rib eye and did you trim it yourself?

    Another question: Does the fat on the side melt by the time the basting is done or did you turn the meat on the narrow side for a minute?

    I continue to enjoy following your adventures and especially like the great photos!

    Thanks,

    Diane

  7. Abra Bennett Says:

    Well, Google shows côte de boeuf as cowboy steak, but I’m not sure, because they’re often described as 2″ thick, whereas a côte is more like 4-5″ thick. If you want the real thing, for sure, at least the first time so you can recognize the cut later, go to Rain Shadow Meats in the Melrose Market. Their côtes are gorgeous. I do turn the cut on the narrow side for a minute, but the basting is really what gets the side cooked.

  8. Margaret Pilgrim Says:

    I get the feeling that your resulting piece was too tempting to allow further photography, but if by chance you did take a shot or two of the cut cote, we’d love to see it.

  9. Abra Bennett Says:

    Sorry, Margaret, we stupidly are it all up without a thought for the camera.

  10. Sue Geisler Says:

    It looks and sounds fantastic – I am carrying the picture to the market so they’ll be sure to know exactly what I want. You didn’t mention covering it at all – right?

  11. Abra Bennett Says:

    No, don’t cover it, because you don’t want it to steam, and you want to keep basting it.

  12. Janet Says:

    My name is Janet and I’m a meat eater. There, I’ve said it for all to hear. :-) The piece of beef you’re showing is devine. A nice bit of marbling going on there. If not cooking by BBQ, I cook beef similar to your way except after getting a nice browning, I pop the meat (in the same fry pan) in the oven (350F) and heat until the internal temp reaches 120F – 125F.
    BTW, love eGullet, it’s one of my Bookmarks, just like your site.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 136 other followers

