Night Moves

We were out late, uncharacteristically late. Considering that it stays light these days until about 10:15, you can see how we were up past our bedtime, that balmy night. And we were in Seattle, a place we visit more often in the daylight hours. We’d just missed the ferry we wanted to be on, had to wait 45 minutes for the next one. We got ready to whine and pout, but hey, it was a beautiful night, soft and almost-warm for once, inviting us out onto the pier.┬áThe ferry, coming in at night, always looks to me like a wedding cake.

We looked down into the water but there were no moon jellies; the water must still be too cold. The gulls were circling Ivar’s hopefully, even though most of the French fry-proffering tourists had gone back to their hotels for the night. Shel pulled out his cellphone and snapped these pictures.

The city has just allowed an enormous Ferris wheel to be constructed on the waterfront. 200 feet high with a diameter of 175 feet and 42 gondolas, it’s huge beyond imagining. I expected to hate it, but found it surprisingly lovely in the dark. Maybe it’s like babies being cutest when they’re asleep, I don’t know, but it’s actually not the monstrosity I’d feared.

Staying up late like Big Grownups, yes we can. Normally I’m more like the chickens in my habits, early to bed, early to rise, but this shows me what I’m missing. That play of dark and light that lends to the mysterious near-invisibility of everyday objects an air of the romantic. You’re never getting me on a 200 foot high Ferris wheel, though.

Explore posts in the same categories: French Letters Visits America

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Night Moves”

  1. allenlecb Says:

    You should try the ferris wheel. I hate heights, but have been on the London Eye three times. Once at night. I thought it was beautiful in daylight, but at night it was wonderful. Even my wife, who is quite timid about heights, aircraft, boats, spiders, I could go on for a long time, but she loved it.
    Give it a go! Allen

  2. Wendy miller Says:

    I am obsessed with that ferris wheel, it’s soooo pretty! Can not wait to go on it!

  3. Betty C. Says:

    I didn’t know about the ferris wheel. I kind of hate heights but will force myself to get on one. Maybe I’ll do this in Seattle this summer…

  4. Lyn Says:

    My brother lives on Bainbridge Island. I have been there in summer when it seems like it will never grow dark! Seattle is truly lovely. Your shots of the Ferris Wheel make me want to go back to visit again.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 157 other followers

